Canadian securities regulation: Single body or decentralization?

In Canada, regulation of securities trading and related activities falls under 13 separate provincial and territorial bodies, most of them called securities commissions. The federal and Ontario governments argue that these should be replaced by a single national (or interprovincial) body. The other provincial and territorial governments oppose this and, since 2004, have created a mutual recognition process called the passport system.

Links of interest

Media Release: Should provincial securities commissions be replaced by a single national body?

Back to top