Aller au contenu principal

IEDM

DonateDonateFacebookTwitterLinkedIn
L’IEDM dans les médias

 

David Gratzer, M.D.
David Gratzer, M.D.

Senior Fellow

Dr. David Gratzer est médecin et auteur. Son livre Code Blue: Reviving Canada's Health Care System (1999), devenu best-seller au Canada, a reçu le Prix Donner pour le meilleur essai sur les politiques publiques au Canada. Il est également l'éditeur de Better Medicine: Reforming Canadian Health Care (2002) et auteur de The Cure: How Capitalism Can Save American Health Care (2006), dont la préface est signée par Milton Friedman. Dr. Gratzer a été chercheur associé au Manhattan Institute for Public Policy de New York durant neuf ans. Des reportages lui ont été consacrés sur les réseaux de télévision CTV, CBC, TVO et FOX. Il est blogueur dans le Huffington Post Canada et ses articles ont aussi été publiés dans le Toronto Star, le Ottawa Citizen et le Wall Street Journal.

Cahier de recherche proposant une approche globale et non coercitive pour réduire l'obésité

Depuis quelques années, nous assistons à l'émergence de groupes, qui, au nom de la santé publique, demandent une plus grande supervision par le gouvernement de nos faits et gestes quotidiens. Cela peut prendre la forme de taxes ou de réglementations, selon le cas.

9 mai 2013mai 9, 2013
www.huffingtonpost.ca/david-gratzer, p. Web

Une approche globale et non coercitive pour réduire l'obésité.

9 mai 2013mai 9, 2013
Note économique traitant de l'inefficacité de la taxation des boissons sucrées

Environ un adulte canadien sur quatre est obèse et ce pourcentage ne cesse de grimper. Chaque année, l'obésité entraîne des coûts évitables de soins de santé à hauteur de plusieurs milliards de dollars pour les gouvernements, les contribuables, les employeurs et les familles. Pour renverser cette tendance, plusieurs groupes et individus qui agissent au nom de la santé publique ont proposé divers modèles de taxation et de réglementation des aliments sucrés et gras.

15 novembre 2012novembre 15, 2012
www.huffingtonpost.ca, p. Web

L'inefficacité de la taxation des boissons sucrées.

15 novembre 2012novembre 15, 2012
National Post, p. FP11

L'inefficacité de la taxation des boissons sucrées.

15 novembre 2012novembre 15, 2012
National Post, p. FP15

Le rapport Drummond sur les finances de l'Ontario. 

23 février 2012février 23, 2012
National Post, p. A-14
La Cour suprême invalide certaines dispositions de l'assurance maladie.
16 août 2005août 16, 2005

EMAIL FACEBOOK TWITTER LINKEDIN

910, rue Peel, bureau 600
Montréal (Québec) H3C 2H8
Canada


Téléphone : 514-273-0969
Courriel : commentaires@iedm.org

au sommet de la page

© IEDM 2018

Skip to main content

MEI

FacebookTwitterLinkedIn
MEI in the Media

 

David Gratzer, M.D.
David Gratzer, M.D.

Senior Fellow

Dr. David Gratzer is a physician and writer. His book Code Blue: Reviving Canada's Health Care System (1999), a national bestseller, won the Donner Prize for best Canadian public-policy book. He is the editor of Better Medicine: Reforming Canadian Health Care (2002) and the author of The Cure: How Capitalism Can Save American Health Care (2006), with a Foreword by Milton Friedman. He has served as a senior fellow at the Manhattan Institute of Public Policy in New York for nine years. Dr. Gratzer has been interviewed by CTV, CBC, TVO, and FOX. He is a blogger with Huffington Post Canada, and his articles have appeared in the Toronto Star, the Ottawa Citizen and The Wall Street Journal.

Research Paper proposing a global and non-coercive approach to fighting obesity

In recent years, we have witnessed the emergence of groups that, in the name of public health, seek greater government supervision over our daily lives. This can take the form of taxes or regulations, as the case may be. When it comes to the phenomenon of obesity, the Research Paper by Dr. David Gratzer, in collaboration with Jasmin Guénette, suggests a positive approach that takes account of the complexity of the problem rather than turning to a tax on specific products, a route that has failed to deliver the hoped-for results, as explained in a previous MEI Economic Note.

9 May 2013May 9, 2013
www.huffingtonpost.ca/david-gratzer, p. Web

A global and non-coercive approach to fighting obesity.

9 May 2013May 9, 2013
www.huffingtonpost.ca, p. Web

The ineffectiveness of a soda tax.

15 November 2012November 15, 2012
Economic Note about the ineffectiveness of a soda tax

Roughly one in four Canadian adults is obese ‒ with the percentage of obese Canadians continuing to rise. Every year, obesity results in billions of dollars in preventable health care costs for governments, taxpayers, employers and families. To reverse this trend, many public health advocates, among whom the Ontario Medical Association, have been calling for various types of taxes and regulation on fatty and sugary foods. These include a "soda tax," that is, a tax on soft drinks and other sweetened beverages.

15 November 2012November 15, 2012
National Post, p. FP11

The ineffectiveness of a soda tax.

15 November 2012November 15, 2012
National Post, p. FP15

Don Drummond’s report on Ontario’s finances.

23 February 2012February 23, 2012
National Post, p. A-14
Supreme Court opens door to private health insurance.
16 August 2005August 16, 2005

EMAIL FACEBOOK TWITTER LINKEDIN

910 Peel Street, Suite 600
Montreal (Quebec) H3C 2H8
Canada


Telephone: 514-273-0969
E-mail: commentaires@iedm.org

to the top of the page

© IEDM 2017